Skip to content

FTP's 'The House That Rob Built' Joins Winners from International Catholic Film Critics Association

, | March 3, 2022 | By

On March 1, 2022, the International Catholic Film Critics Association, composed of members from North America, Europe and Australia, announced its winners for 2021 -- and we're honored to have had one of our films included.

Family Theater Productions' inspiring sports documentary The House That Rob Built is co-winner in the Best Documentary category, with the Oscar-nominated Summer of Soul, from Questlove and Searchlight Pictures. National Geographic Documentary Films' The Rescue rounded out the category.

CODA, a drama about an aspiring musician torn between her dreams and her duty to her deaf fishing family, was a favorite of the critics, which include our local friends Sister Nancy Usselmann, f.s.p, and Sister Rose Pacatte, f.s.p., of the Daughters of St. Paul.

The list of 18 members also features FTP's Father Vince Kuna, C.S.C., and Kate O'Hare (a nominee for best criticism from an ICFCA member), and Lisa Hendey, founder of our sister organization Catholic Mom.

Belfast (which Father Vince wrote about here), inspired by director Kenneth Branagh's Northern Ireland childhood, also took home honors, including one for Branagh.

The ICFCA broke from the Oscars, though, with an acting award for Jennifer Hudson, star of the Aretha Franklin biopic Respect (which O'Hare covered in her own blog here).

In a post for our blog on hits and misses among Academy Award nominations,  Sister Nancy decried the absence of Hudson from the best actress nods.

Here's the full list of nominees and winners:

Best Picture


  • Belfast

  • CODA

  • West Side Story

  • King Richard

  • Dune

  • The Tragedy of Macbeth

  • Drive My Car

  • Mass

Human and Gospel Values Award


Awarded to the film that best reflects human and Gospel values as determined by Catholic critics.

  • Belfast

  • CODA

  • Blue Bayou

  • Mass

  • King Richard

Best Director

Kenneth Branagh, Belfast

  • Sian Heder, CODA

  • Kenneth Branagh, Belfast

  • Ryusuke Hamaguchi, Drive My Car

  • Joel Coen, The Tragedy of Macbeth

  • Steven Spielberg, West Side Story

Best Actor

Andrew Garfield, Tick, Tick… Boom!

  • Will Smith, King Richard

  • Denzel Washington, The Tragedy of Macbeth

  • Benedict Cumberbatch, The Power of the Dog

  • Andrew Garfield, Tick, Tick… Boom!

Best Actress

Jennifer Hudson, Respect

  • Kristen Stewart, Spencer

  • Jennifer Hudson, Respect

  • Nicole Kidman, Being the Ricardos

  • Jessica Chastain, The Eyes of Tammy Faye

  • Judy Davis, Nitram

Best Supporting Actor

Troy Kotsur, CODA

  • Troy Kotsur, CODA

  • Jamie Dornan, Belfast

  • Ciaran Hinds, Belfast

  • Jesse Plemons, The Power of the Dog

  • Kodi Smit-McPhee, The Power of the Dog

Best Supporting Actress

Caitriona Balfe, Belfast, and Ann Dowd, Mass

  • Caitriona Balfe, Belfast

  • Marlee Matlin, CODA

  • Aunjanue Ellis, King Richard

  • Ariana DeBose, West Side Story

  • Ann Dowd, Mass

Best Screenplay

Sian Heder, CODA

  • Tony Kushner, West Side Story

  • Sian Heder, CODA

  • Joel Coen, The Tragedy of Macbeth

  • Ryusuke Hamaguchi and Takamasa Oe, Drive My Car

  • Guillermo del Toro and Kim Morgan, Nightmare Alley

Best Cinematography

Bruno Delbonnel, The Tragedy of Macbeth

  • Greig Fraser, Dune

  • Bruno Delbonnel, The Tragedy of Macbeth

  • Ari Wegner, The Power of the Dog

  • Janusz Kamiński, West Side Story

  • Haris Zambarloukos, Belfast

Best Documentary

Summer of Soul and The House That Rob Built

  • Summer of Soul
  • The House That Rob Built
  • The Rescue

Best Original Score

Kris Bowers, Respect

  • Kris Bowers, Respect

  • Nicholas Britell, Don’t Look Up

  • Daniel Hart, The Green Knight

Honor for Outstanding Criticism (Non-Member)

Peter Bradshaw, The Guardian

  • Anthony Lane, The New Yorker

  • Justin Chang, The Los Angeles Times

  • Peter Bradshaw, The Guardian

  • Peter Debruge, Variety

  • Owen Gleiberman, Variety

Honor for Outstanding Criticism (ICFCA Member)

Peter Malone

  • Peter Malone

  • Kate O’Hare

  • John Mulderig

  • Joseph McAleer

Keep up with Family Theater Productions on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube.

Related Articles